2nd PFS collaboration meeting

  1. Date: Jan 8 - 12, 2012
  2. Venue: ROOM 4 in conference square at Marunouchi building (Jan 8, 9), Lecture hall at IPMU (Jan 11, 12)


Sunday, Jan 8

Time Name Title
9:00 Coffee & Cookie
9:15 Hitoshi Murayama Project Overview (incl. team membership, funding plans, organization)
9:45 Hajime Sugai Project Status
- project organization, project office memberships
- CoDR goals, charge and status
- timetable of project beyond CoDR, issues/challenges
10:15 discussion
10:30 International statements (5 min for each)
Mike Seiffert Caltech/JPL
J. Gunn or M. Strauss Princeton
Olivier Le Fevre LAM
Claudia de Oliveira Brazil
Paul Ho Taiwan
Tim Heckman JHU
11:00 Coffee
11:15 Hideki Takami Subaru view
11:35 Masahiro Takada SAC view
11:45 discussion
12:00 Lunch
13:30 Mike Seiffert Overview of prime-focus instrument
14:00 Jim Gunn Overview of spectrograph
14:30 Naoyuki Tamura, Chris Hirata S/N estimation of the PFS performance
15:00 Coffee & Cookie
15:30 Atsushi Shimono, Robert Lupton,
Olivier Le Fevre
Software issues
16:15 Discussion (led by H. Sugai)
- collaboration structure/policy
- CoDR
- other issues

Monday, Jan 9

Time Name Title
9:00 Coffee & Cookie
9:15 Richard Ellis Science requirements for the CoDR
9:45 Masahiro Takada, Chris Hirata Cosmology
10:15 Masashi Chiba Galactic archeology
10:45 Coffee
11:00 Jenny Greene Galaxy evolution
11:30 Michael Strauss AGN/QSO
12:00 Lunch
13:30 Discussion on high-resolution mode: led by R. Ellis/M. Chiba
14:00 N. Yoshida "Studying dark matter, galaxies, and supernovae in the era of wide-field spectroscopic survey"
14:20 M. Tanaka "Spectrophotometric redshift"
14:40 M. Hayashi "Comprehensive Views of Galaxy and AGN Evolution since z=1"
15:00 R. Takahashi "Revising the Halo-Fit Model for WMAP Cosmological Models"
15:20 Coffee & cookies
15:45 Discussion (led by Richard Ellis & Masahiro Takada)
- Connection between science and technical issues
- time line, tasks, action items for CoDR
- scheduling the next collaboration meeting
- plans for Jan 11-12 meeting
18:00 banquet

Participant list